In celebration of its centennial season, the National Football League (NFL) this week premiered A Lifetime of Sundays at its 2019 Annual Meeting in Scottsdale, Arizona. The documentary, part of the NFL’s initiative to celebrate the league’s 100th season – and to champion the women who have played an integral role in its history – offers an unprecedented look at the history of the NFL through the eyes of four iconic female owners: Virginia McCaskey, Martha Firestone Ford, Norma Hunt and Patricia Rooney.

It is narrated by Academy Award® winner Regina King and co-executive produced by Julie Haddon, Jane Skinner Goodell and 11-time Emmy® Award-winner Bill McCullough and NFL Films.

A Lifetime of Sundays profiles four famously private women: Chicago Bears’ McCaskey, Detroit Lions’ Ford, Pittsburgh Steelers’ Rooney and Kansas City Chiefs’ Hunt. They are the matriarchs of four American football families who, for the first time, share the history of the game from a very different perspective. What ties them together is not just their colorful memories but their incredible passion and love of the game. The film takes viewers inside the personal and professional lives of these women, who have had front row seats as professional football has grown from very humble roots into a celebrated American institution and the country’s most popular sport.

“The experience of making A Lifetime of Sundays was as inspiring as the women themselves,” said Julie Haddon, Senior Vice President of Global Brand and Consumer Marketing. “We had unprecedented access and hours of firsthand interviews, coupled with anecdotes from players, coaches, family and fans. Our film proudly shines a light on the significant roles these women have played over a lifetime of football as they led teams in an era where women in leadership was not common. We’re excited to share this with audiences and honored to have Regina as our narrator.”

“I was thrilled to contribute to this amazing celebration of women in the NFL,” Regina King told USA Today. “I have loved this sport since I was a little girl and I hope this inspires women to seek out leadership positions in the NFL, in sports and in life.”

Visit for more on how the NFL is celebrating its 100th season.

Speaking of 100th seasons…

Nearly 100 years after the National Football League was born in Canton, Ohio, the NFL is celebrating the 13 communities that were home to the 14 teams of its inaugural season.

Eight “Original Towns” outside of the 32 current NFL markets will host live telecasts in their hometowns to announce picks on Day 3 of the Draft: Akron, Ohio; Canton, Ohio; Columbus, Ohio; Dayton, Ohio; Hammond, Indiana; Muncie, Indiana; Rochester, New York and Rock Island, Illinois.

The hometown celebrations in these markets will showcase the town’s history alongside fans, NFL legends, celebrities, and elected officials. For the fifth consecutive year, picks will be made live by all 32 Clubs in their local markets at special locations of their choosing on Day 3. Clubs will make their picks across the country and around the world from a variety of locations, some of which include military bases, state landmarks and major attractions.

“There’s no better way to bring the League’s hundred years of history full circle than to partner with these communities and recognize their important place in history as part of the NFL’s centennial celebration,” said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell.

To honor the lasting legacy of football and pave the way for future generations of football players, the NFL Foundation, in partnership with FieldTurf & Vasco – who will lead construction and installation – will fund the installment of a new artificial turf field in the city of Dayton, Ohio.

The field will commemorate the first-ever NFL game played at Triangle Park on October 3, 1920, between the Dayton Triangles and the Columbus Panhandles. Additionally, the Foundation will make a donation to each of the 13 “Original Towns” to support local youth football programs, advocate for player safety and promote football’s values.

“This is a really special moment for our city,” Nan Whaley, Mayor of Dayton, Ohio told USA Today. “We’re excited that the NFL is recognizing the places that were there in the very beginning and that they are celebrating Dayton’s special history in paving the way for the league with a donation that will leave a lasting impact in the community.”

In celebration of NFL100, the League is proud to honor the following 13 “Original Towns”:

Akron, Ohio (Akron Pros)
Buffalo, New York (Buffalo All-Americans)
Canton, Ohio (Canton Bulldogs)
Chicago, Illinois (Racine Cardinals, Chicago Tigers)
Cleveland, Ohio (Cleveland Tigers)
Columbus, Ohio (Columbus Panhandles)
Dayton, Ohio (Dayton Triangles)
Decatur, Illinois (Decatur Staleys)
Detroit, Michigan (Detroit Heralds)
Hammond, Indiana (Hammond Pros)
Muncie, Indiana (Muncie Flyers)
Rochester, New York (Rochester Jeffersons)
Rock Island, Illinois (Rock Island Independents

Visit for more on how the NFL is celebrating its 100th season.