They started in January with tryouts. Cuts were made and players were either assigned to varsity or junior varsity. For some teams, it’s been a tough season. For others, it’s a chance to reap the rewards of making it to the post-season party and that will be the case starting Friday. While most programs saw their seasons come to a close last Friday, others are either making plans to host, which means that they’re stocking their concession stands and getting the fields ready or making travel plans, which includes getting a bus and getting a hotel to spend the night in on the road.

The 2016 GHSA State Baseball Playoffs get underway Friday at various locations all over the Peach State with the winners moving on to either defend their titles or displace last year’s winners. In Classes AA through AAAAAA, the top four teams from each region make it to the postseason, with the first and second place winners from each region hosting, while the third and fourth place teams will have to travel. Things get underway on Friday as teams will play two games, with the home team taking that role in the first game and the visiting team taking the role of the home team in the second game on Friday. If they split, they’ll play a third game (called the ‘if” game) on Saturday.

In class A, it’s a different story as the top 16 public and private schools will have their separate tournaments. In that class, the teams that win their region, whether they are public or private, are host teams, while the other teams waited out to see if their seasons continued or their bubbles burst. Like their higher class brothers, they start on Friday and the same thing applies as far as home team in the first game, the visitor being the home team in the second game a coin toss for home team honors in the event there is a split on Friday. The Class A public and private school champions will be decided on May 16 with two games on that day and if the two finalists each win one game, the “if”game will take place on May 17th. As for classes AA through AAAAAA? Their championship games take place on May 21st with the “if” games on May 23.

In any case, it’s a chance for fans to travel to places and schools that they’ve never heard of, for the student/atheletes to become heroes and for schools to showcase their facilties and for players to get out of class early. So if you go, prepare for the weather and heat in most places, check your school’s athletic director, coach or sports sections for start time and pack the scorebook.

As Columbo once said, there’s one more thing… Mind your manners if you’re on the road and drive safely.


Tournament Schedule (Classes AA through AAAAAA)
Round 1 – April 29th and 30th
Round 2 – May 4th and 5th
Round 3 – May 10th and 11th
Round 4 – May 16th and 17th
Round 5 – May 21st, May 23rd

Tournament Schedule (Class A, Public and Private)
Round 1 – April 29th and 30th
Round 2 – May 4th and 5th
Round 3 – May 10th and 11th
Round 4 – May 16th and 17th

GHSA first-round-pairings

R4 (3) North Paulding at R1 (2) Valdosta
R8 (4) Grayson at R5 (1) Pope
R7 (3) North Gwinnett at R6 (2) North Forsyth
R3 (4) South Cobb at R2 (1) Rockdale County
R1 (3) Tift County at R4 (2) Harrison
R5 (4) Lassiter at R8 (1) Brookwood
R6 (3) West Forsyth at R7 (2) Collins Hill
R2 (4) Newton at R3 (1) East Coweta
R8 (3) Archer at R5 (2) Walton
R4 (4) McEachern at R1 (1) Lee County
R3 (3) Westlake at R2 (2) Lakeside-DeKalb
R7 (4) Mountain View at R6 (1) Lambert
R5 (3) Etowah at R8 (2) Parkview
R1 (4) Colquitt County at R4 (1) Hillgrove
R2 (3) Tucker at R3 (2) Newnan
R6 (4) Northview at R7 (1) Norcross

R4 (3) McIntosh at R1 (2) Columbus
R8 (4) Heritage-Conyers at R5 (1) Allatoona
R7 (3) Cambridge at R6 (2) Southwest DeKalb
R3 (4) Statesboro at R2 (1) Houston County
R1 (3) LaGrange at R4 (2) Union Grove
R5 (4) Alexander at R8 (1) Gainesville
R6 (3) Dunwoody at R7 (2) Dalton
R2 (4) Evans at R3 (1) Richmond Hill
R8 (3) Loganville at R5 (2) East Paulding
R4 (4) Starr’s Mill at R1 (1) Northside-Columbus
R3 (3) Glynn Academy at R2 (2) Greenbrier
R7 (4) Kell at R6 (1) Mays
R5 (3) South Paulding at R8 (2) Winder-Barrow
R1 (4) Harris County at R4 (1) Northgate
R2 (3) Jones County at R3 (2) South Effingham
R6 (4) Druid Hills at R7 (1) Forsyth Central

Class AAAA
R4 (3) Eastside at R1 (2) Cairo
R8 (4) Madison County at R5 (1) Troup
R7 (3) Pickens at R6 (2) St. Pius X
R3 (4) Liberty County at R2 (1) West Laurens
R1 (3) Bainbridge at R4 (2) Spalding
R5 (4) Whitewater at R8 (1) Buford
R6 (3) Redan at R7 (2) Cartersville
R2 (4) Upson-Lee at R3 (1) Thomson
R8 (3) North Oconee at R5 (2) Woodward Academy
R4 (4) Griffin at R1 (1) Thomas County Central
R3 (3) Burke County at R2 (2) Veterans
R7 (4) Ridgeland at R6 (1) Marist
R5 (3) Carrollton at R8 (2) North Hall
R1 (4) Crisp County at R4 (1) Locust Grove
R2 (3) Perry at R3 (2) Wayne County
R6 (4) Chamblee at R7 (1) Heritage-Catoosa

Class AAA
R4 (3) Decatur at R1 (2) Southeast Bulloch
R8 (4) Oconee County at R5 (1) Cedartown
R7 (3) West Hall at R6 (2) Calhoun
R3 (4) Hepzibah at R2 (1) Jackson
R1 (3) Pierce County at R4 (2) Westminster
R5 (4) Central-Carrollton at R8 (1) Jefferson
R6 (3) Adairsville at R7 (2) Dawson County
R2 (4) Jordan at R3 (1) Westside-Augusta
R8 (3) Jackson County at R5 (2) Rockmart
R4 (4) North Clayton at R1 (1) Appling County
R3 (3) Laney at R2 (2) Peach County
R7 (4) Banks County at R6 (1) Ringgold
R5 (3) Callaway at R8 (2) Hart County
R1 (4) Brantley County at R4 (1) Blessed Trinity
R2 (3) Rutland at R3 (2) Washington County
R6 (4) Sonoraville at R7 (1) Franklin County

Class AA
R4 (3) Monticello at R1 (2) Thomasville
R8 (4) Oglethorpe County at R5 (1) Bowdon
R7 (3) Model at R6 (2) Greater Atlanta Christian
R3 (4) Screven County at R2 (1) Benedictine
R1 (3) Early County at R4 (2) Bleckley County
R5 (4) Manchester at R8 (1) Union County
R6 (3) Lovett at R7 (2) Darlington
R2 (4) Bryan County at R3 (1) Metter
R8 (3) Rabun County at R5 (2) Bremen
R4 (4) Crawford County at R1 (1) Berrien
R3 (3) East Laurens at R2 (2) Jeff Davis
R7 (4) Coosa at R6 (1) Wesleyan
R5 (3) Heard County at R8 (2) Social Circle
R1 (4) Fitzgerald at R4 (1) Lamar County
R2 (3) Bacon County at R3 (2) Harlem
R6 (4) Holy Innocents at R7 (1) Gordon Lee

Class A public (Top Seeds Listed First)
(1) Schley County vs. (16) Georgia Military College
(2) Charlton County vs. (15) Glascock County
(3) Baconton Charter vs. (14) Lanier County
(4) Treutlen County vs. (13) Miller County
(5) Irwin County vs. (12) Johnson County
(6) Trion vs. (11) Clinch County
(7) Emanuel County Institute vs. (10) Telfair County
(8) Taylor County vs. (9) Commerce

Class A private (Top Seeds Listed First)
(1) Savannah Christian vs. (16) Mount de Sales
(2) King’s Ridge vs. (15) Mount Vernon
(3) George Walton vs. (14) First Presbyterian Day
(4) Tattnall Square vs. (13) Mount Paran
(5) Eagle’s Landing Christian vs. (12) Prince Avenue
(6) Hebron Christian vs. (11) Walker
(7) Mount Pisgah vs. (10) Aquinas
(8) Brookstone vs. (9) Calvary Day